Manage Comcast Business My Account user permissions

Updated 2/10/2017 4:42:48 PM by Comcast Expert
Email

Introduction

Once you have activated your account and added some users, you can adjust the settings for each user depending on the capabilities desired for them. Read on to find out how to assign privileges to your users, how to transfer the Primary Manager role and which privileges are associated with each user type.

Note: The Primary Manager or Services Manager can change user permissions, but only the Primary Manager can transfer his or her role to another user.

Change a user's permissions

  1. Step 1:

    online_account_manager_tools

    Sign in to My Account and select Users from the Manage Account menu.

  2. Step 2:

    HOWxxxx-Manage_users_landing

    Locate the user whose permissions you want to change and select Settings under their name.

  3. Step 3:

    HOW5989-Manage_users_basic_permissions

    On the User settings page, select the pencil next to User Permissions.

  4. Step 4:

    HOW5989-Manage_users_basic_permissions

    Select or deselect the checkboxes next to the permissions you would like to update.

    Note: If you deselect both checkboxes, the user will revert to Service user status and will not have any managerial permissions for the account.

Transfer Primary Manager role

Note: This is only available to the Primary Manager on the account.

  1. Step 1:

    HOWXXXX_Select_Users.jpg

    Sign in to My Account and select Users from the Manage Account menu.

  2. ​Step 2:

    HOW5989_Transfer_Primary_Step_2.jpg

    Select Transfer Role under Primary Manager in the User Permissions column.

  3. Step 3:

    HOW5989_Transfer_Primary_Step_3.jpg

    Select an existing Services and Billing Manager to which the Primary Manager role will be transferred. If you have no active Services and Billing Manager users on your account, the option to create a new user will appear. Once the new Primary Manager is selected, the previous Primary Manager will be assigned the role of Services and Billing Manager. Select Confirm once all changes have been made.

    ​Note: Only users with both Services and Billing Manager roles assigned will populate in this list. If a user is not displaying on this page, they are likely missing one of the two necessary user roles.

  4. Step 4:

    HOW5989_Transfer_Primary_Step_4.jpg

    Select Confirm to transfer the Primary Manager role.

User Types and Permissions

Services Manager: Allows management and upgrading of subscribed features and services as well as management of account users.

Billing Manager: Authorizes a user to pay bills and update account payment information.

Service User: Manage individual service preferences, but cannot view/pay bills or make account-level changes to subscribed services. Service user is the default user status and does not need to be assigned.

Primary Manager is reserved for the account creator and provides service and billing management for all subscribed services and management of account users. You can only have one Primary Manager per account.

You can download a copy of our full Online Account User Permissions guide here (Adobe Reader required).

Was This Article Helpful?

Rate this article on a scale of 1-5

Didn't find what you're looking for?

Related Articles

» More about Account Management